Fitness Tuesday, The New Theory Being Born

by uhbeautifuldisaster

That title is a playoff of a poem I wrote 2 summers ago. I wasn’t aware of all the scientific progress we had made until i started doing my own research, but I was starting to believe that I had the power to change my life, I could alter every fiber of my being, I could become better and stronger. This hope lead me to discover Happier  the book I mention, and also the videos The Biology of Belief The Psychology of Change. My browser is flighty, so I’m sharing this in order to save this important info. 

In case you’re new, the videos I mentioned above are in this link:  https://wherehavealltheflowers.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/fitness-tuesda…ning-wait-what/

What I am sharing is an issue in TotalHealth Magazine. It is an article written by N.D. Sherrill Sellman. Her books are a needed plus, so in the meantime I’ll be busy reading some of her informative and enlightening articles.

http://totalhealthmagazine.com/articles/anti-aging/the-age-of-personal-nutritional-genomics-rewriting-your-genetic-expression.html

The word Telomere is not new to me. I read it first in ELLE, the article was called “Hey – Wanna Live Forever?” In 1984 two grad students discovered telomerase as the enzyme that protects telomeres. Telomeres are found at the end of the chromosome and control basically how long we live. Elle discuses Harvard biologist Ronald DePinho’s study on modified mice where he was able to turn telomerase on and off using a synthetic estrogen drug. The results were concept forming; in the off stage the mice’s age accelerated. Turned on, mice acted energetic and lively.

Perhaps one day we will be able to live forever, turn back our biological clock to stay 21 two decades later without terrible consequence. A machine will be invented to change the color of your eye and hair texture, straighten you out and make you the perfect size, and keep you mechanically sound. Until we have the funds to do so, we’ll have to be content with who we are.

