The Art of War

by uhbeautifuldisaster

CHECK UP

 

Sunday is Appreciation Day, which I remembered promptly at 3:45 p.m. A little late in the day to remember to be thankful, no? Nevertheless, I took 60 seconds to think about Mrs. Zella’s charity, the hard work Edwardo is clocking in, and the ability to feel astonished.

I was also happy to be in a healthy relationship with Edwardo, and although the battle is a long one, we still have the strength and provisions to keep pressing forward. 

Edwardo changed my life with his lessons of war history. I let him explain Germany’s ingenuity for efficient weaponry and defense, demonstrating with Google pictures of the different tank designs. He taught me how to disarm a gun in a blink of an eye, get cover, and how to aim with a sight. One lesson he stressed was to be stoic, or be like water. If there are logs in the way, water moves swiftly around it. Edwardo is a tactician, his talents reflected in his ability to play only bad ass video games like BATTLEFIELD and DARK SOULS on PS3 in LEGENDARY MODE. Edwardo never played a video game on NORMAL or EASY. Never. He’d change the settings of the game play to experience the engine’s highest potential. I miss the merciless heat of the humid summer when Edwardo paced with the ART OF WAR in his hands, as he read aloud in this magisterial voice summoning the strategies of an ancient high-ranking Chinese general for my benefit. He was trying to save my life the way he had saved himself – survival of the fittest.

Here’s an analogy: My first snow was a trap. I admired the cotton fluff snow at the cost of hypothermia. The south has NO inkling how cold 28 degrees Fahrenheit gets. I would complain, until I remembered Stalingrad. 

 

it’s a tactic I use to get myself motivated and to keep fighting for what I believe in. 

Zombie – The Cranberries

DARK SOULS game trailer

