Tie Loose Ends

by uhbeautifuldisaster

steve smith

art by Steve Smith

Growing up in Southern California, I made macrame bracelets for friends. That was a long time ago. A dancer looking out for me in Colorado gave me an incredibly generous gift: crochet needles, yarn, and books. I’ve been non stop tying knots. It feels therapeutic to me. I went through my junk cigar box and picked out charms. I’m tying time in knots, inspired by themes around my room – the news on war, Eduardo’s camo jacket, my attitude not to look back. Matching colors with meanings. It was almost like a rite of passage when I learned the square knot.

We’re taking the greyhound in a week. I’m so excited to start our life in a new city. I hope I won’t get too nervous. My short term goals:

– get a job at Walgreens or a resturant
– support my love and best friend as he works impressively in the oil fields
– sell bracelets for tuition
– continue my daily fitness regimen
– take lots of pictures

My long term goals:

– get a second part time job for tuition
– buy a car
– enroll in a dance class
– become a pharmacy technician

Napoleon Hill advises “to create a definite plan of action and begin at once, without hesitation.”

